Home Politics National UP Elections 2017: BJP Wins All Three Graduate MLC Seats In UP

UP Elections 2017: BJP Wins All Three Graduate MLC Seats In UP

While the war for the Hindi heartland begins today as the state of Uttar Pradesh goes to the polls, all three graduate MLC seats have been won by the BJP in a major boost to the party currently in power at the centre and trying to get a toehold in India’s largest state. The three seats represent the cities of Kanpur, Gorakhpur, and Bareilly. Experts have suggested that this year’s legislative council elections are more important than other years because this is an election year. The wins would also go a long way to ensuring that the BJP’s prospects of winning the UP Elections 2017 get bolstered.

BJP flags
The BJP’s flag in the three cities fly higher after winning the three MLC seats

The voting in the first phase of the UP Elections 2017 is still underway. According to the Financial Times, the voting process, which traditionally starts in the morning, saw only a measly 12 percent of the electorate voting till 9 a.m. A number of cities, including politically volatile ones like Bulandshahr and Muzaffarnagar, have recorded 12 percent and 15 percent voting respectively. The city of Agra, one of the ruling party’s bastions, has also witnessed 12 percent of the total votes cast. Mathura, traditionally the stronghold of the BJP, has seen 12.29 percent of the total votes being cast. Today’ first phase will see voting being held in 73 assembly constituencies spread across 15 districts of the biggest state in the country.

The first phase will decide the fates of 839 candidates at 26,823 polling stations today. Elaborate arrangements in security have been noted across the districts where polling is underway. The win in the three graduate MLC seats in the cities will also ensure that the BJP goes to the people before the next phase begins. They can then shrug off the tag of being a non-significant player in the state of UP.

The UP Elections 2017 has seen a number of campaigns and bitter fights which have taken place from campaign rallies in dusty towns to the polished floors of the parliament. The Samajwadi Party, in its newly-formed alliance with the Congress party, will look to topple the BJP, which is going all in to ensure that the state comes back in its fold after more than a decade. One smaller party, the Indian National Lok Dal or the INLD, is also in the fray, primarily banking on the Jat vote bank.

UP Elections 2017 will see voting in Uttar Pradesh in seven phases – February 11, 15, 19, 23, 27, March 4 and 8. The counting of votes will take place on March 11. The four-sided contest is heating up with each passing day. The political circles in New Delhi too are experiencing the heat, especially after the opposition parties have debunked the PM’s demonetization exercise as an exercise in futility.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Fabnewz Team
Load More In National

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Change the complete scenario of the US politics by betting on the favorite leader

What if the politics would be predicted by the betting process? William Hill will give you…